Shropshire Council website

This is the website of Shropshire Council

Contact information



0345 678 9000

Postal Address

Shropshire Council
Abbey Foregate


Committee name: Cabinet
Committee Services Contact: Penny Chamberlain
Contact e-mail:
Contact telephone: 01743 252729

Committee purpose

The Cabinet is the part of the Council which is responsible for most day-to-day decisions.

The Cabinet meets on a four to five-weekly basis and its meetings are open to the public. You can ask questions or make a short statement, provided you let us know first. Please see the Public question time link for more details.

Cabinet's primary roles are to lead in the preparation of the Council's policies and budget, to lead the community planning process and to ensure the attainment of best value. A full list of its functions and delegations to individual Members of the Executive can be found in the Council's Constitution.

The Cabinet and individual Members have to make decisions which are in line with the Council's overall policies and budget. If they wish to make a decision which is outside the budget or policy framework, this must be referred to the Council to decide. Decisions made by the Cabinet, including individual Members, are subject to 'call-in'.

This is where members who are not part of the Cabinet are given the opportunity to challenge a decision made by the Executive (Cabinet) as a whole or by Executive Members. If this happens, the Cabinet or individual Member may have to reconsider their decision.

The Cabinet also publishes a Forward Plan which contains: a list of key decisions that Cabinet and individual Members are likely to take in the following four months; the expected date of the meeting or period that the decision will be taken at/in; and the steps to be taken by anyone who wants to make representations to the Cabinet or individual Member about this matter.

The Cabinet is made up of ten members, one of whom, the Leader, is elected by Council for a 4-year term of office. The other nine members area appointed by the Leader.

Click here to see an archived list of all previous meetings of this committee.

Detailed list of all future committee meetings.

Members of this committee

The following Shropshire Councillors are currently members of this committee. Click the name of a councillor to jump to more details about them.

Councillor Position
Tim Barker Portfolio Holder: Performance
Keith Barrow Leader of the Council (Reputation Management and Communications)
Gwilym Butler Portfolio Holder: Leisure, Libraries and Culture
Karen Calder Portfolio Holder: Health
Lee Chapman Portfolio Holder: Adult Services and Local Commissioning (South)
Steve Charmley Portfolio Holder: Business Growth, ip&e and Commissioning (North)
Ann Hartley Portfolio Holder: Children's Services, Transformation and Safeguarding (Deputy Leader)
Mike Owen Portfolio Holder: Resources, Finance and Support
Mal Price Portfolio Holder: Planning, Housing and Commissioning (Central)
Claire Wild Portfolio Holder: Highways and Transport

Back to top